Search This Website

Sunday, 15 May 2022

Lunar Eclipse 2022: Watch The "Blood Moon" In India

Lunar Eclipse 2022: Watch The "Blood Moon" In India

Lunar Eclipse 2022: The Lunar Eclipse or Chandra Grahan is an incredible phenomenon that is set to take place next week. Here's all you need to know about the date, time and how to watch Blood Moon


Lunar Eclipse 2022: A spectacular reddish Moon will grace the skies next week, leading to a nighttime spectacle. Following the first partial Solar Eclipse, we are nearing the first Lunar Eclipse or Chandra Grahan of 2022. As the large full Moon will get totally eclipsed by Earth, bathing it in shades of deep red, many parts of the world will be able to witness the Lunar Eclipse. This is why total Lunar Eclipses are commonly known as Blood Moons. This year, the eclipse will occur on May 15 and 16.


Sky gazers are in for a treat again as the first total lunar eclipse of 2022, also known as "supermoon", "blood moon" or "flower moon", will take place on May 15-16 intervening night. The moon will be bathed in the reflected red and orange hues of Earth's sunsets and sunrises for about 1-1.5 hours, one of the longest totalities of the decade. It will be the first of the two so-called blood moons in a year.

NASA said How can I observe the eclipse?

You don’t need any special equipment to observe a lunar eclipse, although binoculars or a telescope will enhance the view and the red color. A dark environment away from bright lights makes for the best viewing conditions.


The eastern half of the United States and all of South America will have the opportunity to see every stage of the lunar eclipse. Totality will be visible in much of Africa, western Europe, Central and South America, and most of North America.

A total eclipse occurs when Earth passes directly between the moon and the sun and casts a shadow on our cosmic companion. In a total lunar eclipse, the entire Moon falls within the darkest part of Earth’s shadow, called the umbra.

Timing of lunar eclipse in India
As per NASA, the penumbral eclipse will begin at 1:32 UTC on May 16 which is or 7:02 am Indian Standard Time (IST). The partial eclipse begins at 2:27 UTC or 7:57 am IST. The totality begins at 3:29 UTC or 8:59 am IST.
Totality ends at 4:53 UTC or 10:23 am IST. The partial eclipse ends at 5:55 UTC (11:25 am IST) and finally the penumbral eclipse ends at 6:50 UTC (12:20 pm IST).

People in the Americas, Europe and Africa will see the total lunar eclipse during the night of May 15-16, 2022. Plus, on this night, the moon is close: a supermoon.

This lunar eclipse takes place 1.5 days before the moon reaches perigee, its closest point to Earth for the month. So this full moon is a supermoon. That means, during this eclipse, the moon appears relatively large in our sky.

During the May 15-16 eclipse, the moon is located in the direction of the constellation Libra.

The eclipse belongs to Saros 131 in the catalog of lunar eclipses. It is number 34 of 72 eclipses in the series. All eclipses in this series occur at the moon’s descending node. The moon moves northward with respect to the node with each succeeding eclipse in the series.


The total phase of the eclipse, which will see the moon skirt into the darkest umbral shadow from our planet, will take place from portions of the Americas, Antarctica, Europe, Africa and the east Pacific.

A penumbral eclipse is visible too, in New Zealand, eastern Europe and the Middle East. The moon will turn slightly darker as the penumbra, or the lighter shadow, of our planet is cast upon the surface. The penumbral eclipse, by the way, will begin about an hour earlier and end about an hour after the partial eclipse.

If you're outside the viewing zone or shut out because of bad weather, however, we also have several options to watch the show online, as long as they have good weather at their own viewing sites. the moon will come.

What is special about this eclipse?

According to science, when the moon is completely covered by the earth, no light falls on it and because of this it appears red, hence it is also called a bloom.

It is said in the Puranas that the importance of charity is very high. Donating at the time of eclipse removes many of life's worries and brings relief from suffering. At the same time a person also gets the blessing of intellect and happiness comes in the house. So find out what items are worth donating.

Donation of rice

Rice is used in many auspicious deeds. It is believed that donating rice at the time of eclipse keeps the house as a storehouse of grain and does not cause any defects.

Sugar donation

Donation of sugar at the time of eclipse is also considered good. It is believed that it is the grace of the gods and goddesses and their blessings. It is important to avoid the negative effects of eclipses.

No comments:

Post a Comment

ad2